Difference Day


Difference Day

On Sunday 3 May it's Difference Day again!

The Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Université Libre de Bruxelles, Erasmushogeschool Brussel, BOZAR, IHECS and the Evens Foundation join forces to discuss about the importance of freedom of the press and freedom of expression.

This year’s theme is Journalism Without Fear or Favour. Journalism is under pressure from politicians and other pressure groups that try to restrict, direct or intimidate the media. That is why journalism is more important than ever before and why more and more actions are being taken to support independent journalism. It’s no surprise that independence is the theme of this year's Difference Day: journalists should not be afraid to do their job, nor should they be forced to grant certain favours to anyone.

Prize for freedom of expression

Every year, the Difference Day Honorary Title for Freedom of Expression is awarded by the Brussels universities VUB and ULB, and their numerous partners. This year, the title goes to the Turkish journalist and writer Ahmet Altan, who is in prison, and the Turkish writer and women’s rights activist Elif Shafak. Shafak will be there live – online. In 2015, Saudi blogger Raif Badawi was the first recipient of the prize. Unfortunately, he remains in jail today. In 2016 the winners were Djemila Benhabib and Zineb El Rhazoui, in 2017 the Global Investigative Journalism Network, in 2018 Daphne Caruana Galizia and in 2019 Marcela Turati.

Due to the corona crisis, this edition will take place online through a livestream from Pilar's Concert Hall on the VUB campus.

More information on Facebook and on Difference Day website.