Laureates of the Evens Arts Prize

Artist and choreographer Eszter Salamon received the Prize for her ambitious and uncompromising work that explores what has been forgotten, excluded and repressed in Western consciousness. A Special Mention of the Jury was awarded to Eliane Radigue, one of the most innovative and important contemporary composers.

Artist and filmmaker Els Dietvorst became laureate for her work, a contemporary parable confronting timeless questions of life, struggle, and the figure of an outsider.

Artist collective Artway of Thinking was distinguished for initiating collective creative processes, where the artist gets actively involved in the process of social change.

Choreographer Wim Vandekeybus won the Prize for his important contribution to European contemporary dance, and his social and cultural commitment at both local and international levels.

Artist Sven Augustijnen was lauded for his body of work that challenged the traditional codes of documentary practice and questioned recent European colonial history, its underlying narratives and current political practices.

Artist Agnieszka Podgórska was distinguished for her work on the body as a 'first language' in our relationship with others, as a prerequisite for living together.

In the framework of its 10th anniversary, the Evens Foundation pursued the reflections that accompanied the Evens Arts Prize to develop the Floating Territories project, linking the contemporary art biennials of Istanbul, Athens and Venice. Artists, curators, philosophers and cultural activists were invited to explore the responsibilities and limits of art in the context of a Europe in motion. Read more

The Foundation launched a contest for short film screenplays, aimed at young directors from Europe and the Middle East, so as to create spaces for dialogue between these two cultural territories. The prize, awarded to Nassim Amaouche, Ula Tabari and Timon Koulmasis, enabled the creation of three short films, which were critically acclaimed and won awards at international film festivals.

The inaugural Evens Arts Prize was awarded to Sylvie Blocher with the collective Campement Urbain. The prize recognized their reflection on the significance and the possibilities of artistic interventions in the public space.

Since its creation in 2002, the members of the selection committees and juries of the Evens Arts Prize have included*: Bart De Baere, M HKA Museum for Contemporary Art, Antwerp; Pierre Bal-Blanc, CAC, Bretigny; Tanya Barson, Tate Modern, London; Andrea Bellini, Castello di Rivoli, Turin; Lynne Cooke, Museo Reina Sofia, Madrid; Catherine David, Witte de With Rotterdam; Ann Demeester, De Appel, Amsterdam; Paul Dujardin, Bozar, Brussels; Jacob Fabricius, Malmo Konsthall; Lars Henrik Gass, International Short Film Festival Oberhausen; artist Jochen Gerz; Laurent Jacob, Festival de Cannes, Ciné Fondation; curator Hou Hanru; philosopher Marie José Mondzain; curator Hans-Ulrich Obrist, artist Michelangelo Pistoletto; Joana Mytkowska, Museum of Modern Art, Warsaw; Jan Raes, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Amsterdam; Maria Ines Rodriguez, Musac, Leon; Nicolaus Schafhausen, Witte de With, Rotterdam; Jaroslaw Suchan, Art Museum, Lodz; Dirk Snauwaert, Wiels, Brussels; Intishal Al Timimi, Arab Film Festival, Rotterdam; Marc-Olivier Wahler, Palais de Tokyo, Paris.

*The positions listed applied at the time of the participation in the prize.